Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Literary Arts and Book Reviews

Love to read? Here are some books recommened and reviewed by our readers.

If you want to write a review of a book that impressed you enough to pass along - please send us your review. Thanks for READING!

Sort by Date
2018-11-17Nov 17, 2018
2018-10-24Oct 24, 2018

Not being a fan of Donald Trump long before he ever ran for president nor a devotee of reality TV, I had never seen The Apprentice. But I had heard of Omarosa. If nothing else her reputation was that she was a shrew, a vixen, and a newly generated group of people who are famous for being famous like the Kardashians. Omarosa Manigault Newman’s book is almost passé now because it was released delineating the weirdness emanating from Pennsylvania Ave. 

2018-10-06Oct 6, 2018

For one thing, Cliché’s have a certain “commonality” that can instantly unify us – or move us apart!  (Depending upon the cliché, of course!) Time flies – can’t believe the year is almost over!  Surely, we can hear each other chiming in on that one as summer ends, the leaves begin to turn and the tree nuts fall.  It’s easy to agree time moves fast – and relentlessly, cliché notwithstanding.

2018-09-28Sep 28, 2018

The book begins with a prologue featuring an Asian family coming in from the rain with their unruly children to a ritzy hotel and requesting lodging. They are snubbed by the snooty hotel clerk whereupon they just buy the place. The tone has been set.

2018-08-30Aug 30, 2018

It has been the season of pink sunshine here in Geyserville and the rest of northern Sonoma County and beyond—which sounds so cheery. Unfortunately, it’s what I notice when look at the mix of sunlight and shadows on the ground when there is either visible or invisible smoke lingering in the air, which has been the case for weeks now.

2018-08-19Aug 19, 2018

Janelle Hanchett, author of I’m Just Happy To Be Here, is a wonderful writer. She can be sassy and sarcastic without sacrificing poignancy. I would like to take credit for her talent and her articulate expression as I was her high school English teacher. But, I can’t. She was a natural.

2018-07-29Jul 29, 2018

David Hogg and his sister Lauren lived through the horrible shooting at their high school, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School. They take turns in their book,#Never Again, describing what they experienced and how they’ve become activists in the aftermath, especially David. But the book describes their personal developmental process before and because of this horrible tragedy.

 

2018-06-28Jun 28, 2018

Not long after I started writing books for a living, I realized that a lot of my own favorite books were works of narrative nonfiction:Jon Krakauer’sInto Thin Air.Laura Hillenbrand’sSeabiscuit.Nathaniel Philbrick’sIn the Heart of the Sea.Daniel James Brown’s The Boys in the Boat.

I wanted to write one myself, but I needed the rig

2018-06-26Jun 26, 2018

Unstoppable by Inga Lizdenyte is many things: an autobiography, an epistolary piece, a spiritual/inspirational guide and a tragic love story.

Please support our sponsors:

Bike Partner.net Logo

Call 855-483-3732 to find out about Folding, Cargo & Electric Bikes. Perfect for a SMART Train Ride!

Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services
Locally-Owned Jewelry Businesses in Sonoma County

Find Goldsmiths and Jewelers who create custom designs, offer jewelry repair, estate appraisals, and gems.

Flower Shops and Florists of Sonoma County

Please support locally-owned businesses and tell them the Gazette sent you - THANK YOU!

Sonoma County Bicycle Shops and Groups

Sonoma County Bike Shops and Groups. Find LOCALLY-OWNED Bicycle Shops for NEW, Used and Rental Bicycles as well as REPAIR. Look for a bike-riding group that suits your needs and style.


Please use the Gazette's Guide to find LOCALLY-OWNED Garden Businesses to support Sonoma County's environmental and economic health and vitality.

Sonoma County Ice Cream and Frozen Dessert Shops LOCAL Guide 2018

Sonoma County Ice Cream and Frozen Dessert LOCAL Shops Guide 2018