Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Literary Arts and Reviews

Love to read? Here are some books recommened and reviewed by our readers.

If you want to write a review of a book that impressed you enough to pass along - please send us your review. Thanks for READING!

Sort by Date
2018-07-29Jul 29, 2018

David Hogg and his sister Lauren lived through the horrible shooting at their high school, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School. They take turns in their book,#Never Again, describing what they experienced and how they’ve become activists in the aftermath, especially David. But the book describes their personal developmental process before and because of this horrible tragedy.

 

2018-03-16Mar 16, 2018

Would you like to read a novel that is about a marriage going through a rough patch but that also functions a a quasi-cookbook and a botanical reference manual? Look no further than Not Quite Happily Ever After by local author,Heidi Freestone.

2018-03-05Mar 5, 2018

There is the classic idea of the garden as sanctuary — restorative, with paths to wander, nature to contemplate, butterflies and hummingbirds providing distraction as they fly among colorful flowers, the gentle sound of water, a sheltered, life-affirming place. My neighbor finds the seat by our tiny pond the perfect place to practice her daily meditation.

2018-03-02Mar 2, 2018

I heard Professor Gregory Simon on KPFA radio talking about his book Flame and Fortune in the American West as I was evacuating to my sister’s in Petaluma due to smoke and encroaching fire near my home in Sonoma Valley.

2018-06-28Jun 28, 2018

Not long after I started writing books for a living, I realized that a lot of my own favorite books were works of narrative nonfiction:Jon Krakauer’sInto Thin Air.Laura Hillenbrand’sSeabiscuit.Nathaniel Philbrick’sIn the Heart of the Sea.Daniel James Brown’s The Boys in the Boat.

I wanted to write one myself, but I needed the rig

2018-06-26Jun 26, 2018

Unstoppable by Inga Lizdenyte is many things: an autobiography, an epistolary piece, a spiritual/inspirational guide and a tragic love story.

2018-06-01Jun 1, 2018

Esteemed poet, Pat Nolan, continues to propel literary darts at the world from his Monte Rio home. Finally, his ancient boxes and file cabinet drawers have been salvaged from the period of 1969-89, when he was “ceaselessly writing,” and dragged into the light of day in his new release, “So Much,” his first volume of selected poems.

2018-05-18May 18, 2018

Creative Sonoma announces recipients of Arts Education Innovation Grants totalling $88,000 to fund fifteen innovative arts education programs serving students in the County who may have limited access to arts training. 

2018-05-17May 17, 2018

Marlene Cullen is the editor of Connections, a collection of stories, poems and anecdotes which is destined to become part of an anthology. This is the second book in The Write Spot to Jump Start your Writing series. Ms. Cullen says she is passionate about writing.

2018-05-02May 2, 2018

On Friday, May 18th, Occidental Center for the Arts is proud to present an Evening with Daniel Ziblatt, Harvard Professor of Government and co-author of international bestseller,How Democracies Die.

2018-04-30Apr 30, 2018

Reese Witherspoon has a pretty good track record. She producedGone Girl andWild. Her last effort,Big Little Lies, garnered several Emmys. This TV  series was so successful that the second season has attracted the talents of no less a prestigious personage than Meryl Streep.

2018-03-30Mar 30, 2018

Prairie Home Companion meets Amateur Radio Hour in a series of live radio shows to be recorded at the historic Rio Theater in beautiful downtown Monte Rio.

Please support our sponsors:

Bike Partner.net Logo

Call 855-483-3732 to find out about Folding, Cargo & Electric Bikes. Perfect for a SMART Train Ride!

Cotati Accordion Festival 2018
BeeKind of Sebastopol
Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services
Sonoma County Ice Cream and Frozen Dessert Shops LOCAL Guide 2018

Sonoma County Ice Cream and Frozen Dessert LOCAL Shops Guide 2018

Sonoma County Gazette GUIDE to Swimming Pools - Rivers - Lakes - Boat Rentals

Sonoma County Gazette GUIDE to Swimming Pools - Rivers - Lakes - Boat Rentals

Sonoma County Bicycle Shops and Groups

Sonoma County Bike Shops and Groups. Find LOCALLY-OWNED Bicycle Shops for NEW, Used and Rental Bicycles as well as REPAIR. Look for a bike-riding group that suits your needs and style.


Please use the Gazette's Guide to find LOCALLY-OWNED Garden Businesses to support Sonoma County's environmental and economic health and vitality.

Flower Shops and Florists of Sonoma County

Please support locally-owned businesses and tell them the Gazette sent you - THANK YOU!