Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Literary Arts and Book Reviews

Love to read? Here are some books recommened and reviewed by our readers.

If you want to write a review of a book that impressed you enough to pass along - please send us your review. Thanks for READING!

Submit an ARTICLE

Sort by Date
2020-06-24Jun 24, 2020

Author, James Kelly, a local journalist who is a member of the Redwood Writers actually served three tours in the Vietnamese conflict. His book, however, deals with the aftermath of conflict rather than the war itself. I felt, at times, as if I were reading a first draft of a wonderful novel that could be a best-seller or a choice option for a film interpretation considering its visual appeal with its more than interesting locales. The story was enjoyable and has great potential.

2020-06-05Jun 5, 2020

At 80 years of age, early resident of The Sea Ranch Thomas Cochrane morphed into an author. This second act of his began with the release of his rigorously researched, Shaping the Sonoma-Mendocino Coast – Exploring the Coastal Geology of Northern California. Book #2 followed approximately a year and a half later in the summer of 2018, Tornados, Rattlesnakes & Oil – A Wildcatter’s Memories of Hunting for “Black Gold,”.  And now hisEntwined – In Mystery & Murder…x 2,  zips readers along on an unexpectedly diverse set of adventures.

2020-05-31May 31, 2020

Sonoma County Library is offering a schedule of weekly story times, craft activities, easy science projects and read-aloud programs for older kids are now online. Featuring Sonoma County Library children’s librarian Kim Dargeou, who created the short videos with “Miss Kim”.

2020-05-29May 29, 2020

California Poets in the Schools (CalPoets) announces the county’s first-ever Youth Poet Laureate. Zoya Ahmed, an incoming senior at Maria Carrillo High School, was selected from a qualified pool of applicants by a panel of judges on May 11th, 2020. The judging panel included distinguished poets and teachers from throughout the county including Maya Khosla, the outgoing Poet Laureate of Sonoma County. Ms. Ahmed will offer her first public appearance as  Sonoma County Youth Poet Laureate at the California Poets in the Schools Virtual Poetry Symposium happening June 26th, 27th and 28th.

2020-05-27May 27, 2020

Local author, Jeane Sloane,  tells a story about Adeline Peterson who was a war correspondent during WWII when women were definitely not encouraged to photograph the atrocities of war. She was feisty and courageous and broke gender biases . Her story is fictionalized but the events she covers are real. The novel abounds with mind-boggling research from camera equipment to war timelines. Name dropping adds authenticity, Ernest Hemingway, Eleanor Roosevelt, fellow recorders of history Virginia Cowles and Dorothea Lange. Each chapter is headed with a pithy quote which sets the tone.

2020-05-20May 20, 2020

All Sonoma County residents are invited to sign up for Sonoma County Library’s 2020 Summer Reading Program for a summer of exploration, learning and fun. Readers can also work together to reach an audacious goal, of reading 2 million minutes, county wide, this summer. The 2020 Summer Reading Challenge runs from June 1 through August 8. “We have set a goal for Sonoma County to read 2 million minutes during the course of the summer reading program, and we are asking each participant to read at least 960 minutes during that time. It only takes 20 minutes a day this summer to surpass your 960-minute goal,” said Sonoma County Library Director Ann Hammond. The library’s summer reading program will be mostly online, but reading takes place in person, in the real world. “It starts with a book in your lap. Check it out there is no age limit.

2020-03-18Mar 18, 2020

The novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak continues to accelerate globally, representing a serious public health threat for communities of all sizes. As a trusted community resource, the Sonoma County Library is committed to serving our community in this uncertain time. Our library banches are closed, as we are committed to the health and safety of our community and our staff. Please do not return library materials to the branches. Our digital library never closes. 
Las sucursales de nuestra biblioteca están cerradas, Nuestra biblioteca en línea nunca cierra.

Please support our sponsors:

Listen to KRCB FM on Our FREE Mobile App

Tune into KRCB any time - CLICK HERE to download the Live Streaming app

REFB donations
Save Local Newspapers
Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services

Visit Fine Tree Care WEBSITE for a List of our SERVICES - Testimonials and to request a FREE Estimate

LOCAL GUIDE to Cannabis Dispensaries and Delivery Services, Sonoma County & Beyond.

LOCAL GUIDE to Cannabis Dispensaries and Delivery Services, Sonoma County & Beyond.All dispensaries have verified their information.

Flip through the pages of the print edition of the 2020 Sonoma County Gardeners Resource Guide

Your 2020 GUIDE to support locally-owned garden businesses and natural landscaping practices.

Sonoma County Bicycle Shops and Groups

Sonoma County Bike Shops and Groups. Find LOCALLY-OWNED Bicycle Shops for NEW, Used and Rental Bicycles as well as REPAIR. Look for a bike-riding group that suits your needs and style.