Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Op-Ed Opinion Essay

We encourage you to let our readers know what's On Your Mind. Your OPINION is valuable to us. The only thing we ask is that it be CONstructive...not DEstructive. We want what BUILDS community, dialogue, and conversation that brings us closer to understanding each other and our varied perspectives. Please send your OPINIONS to vesta@sonic.net

Submit an ARTICLE

Sort by Date
2020-01-07Jan 7, 2020

The biggest problem that America has with marijuana is that it is still considered a schedule one drug under the federal government which has significantly decreased the financial opportunities and medical advancements that could have been produced earlier. Puting marijuana in the same categorycould save lives and the environment in countless ways, on a more entrepreneurial note it could also raze thousands of people out of poverty by providing new jobs and it could make many obscenely rich. 

2019-12-25Dec 25, 2019

We feel we must again respond to the opposition to a proposal by the U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) to eradicate non-native and invasive House Mice from the Farallon Islands outlined in this article (https://www.sonomacountygazette.com/sonoma-county-news/part-2-threat-to-our-coast-updating-the-local-coastal-plan).  A lot has been written about this proposal, both pro and con. We invite those interested in being informed to read the FWS's Final Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) on the project here https://www.fws.gov/uploadedFiles/South_Farallon_Island_%20Invasive_House_Mouse_Eradication_Project_Final%20EIS.pdf

 

2019-12-18Dec 18, 2019

Tonight Downtown Santa Rosa was ringing with chants of IMPEACH and REMOVE Donald Trump, cars honking in support of the crowd, someone singing over the loud speaker "We shall overcome... the day Trump is impeached and goes away". It felt good to be there, showing up to protest the asault on our democracy and the integrity and freedom of the press. 

2019-12-15Dec 15, 2019

It is time to stop being naive about what is happening in America. Our country has been taken over by a small cadre of Trumpists. Taking advantage of America's inherent unconscious and conscious racism, Trump blamed "the other" for all of the country's problems. Somewhat like Germany in the 1930s, Trump campaigned on promises of economic salvation and cleaning out corrupt government. People believed he could do it too. The public ignored all his bankruptcies and unfair business practices while believing him to be a multi-millionaire with this worldly, amazing business prowess who could make America great again. Well, so Hitler told the Germans in the 1930's. At first imperceptibly, then subtly, fascism quietly took root; and soon blatant, inhumane, ignorant policies, decrees, and sweepingly undemocratic, government-wide changes were taking place with breathtaking rapidity.

2019-12-12Dec 12, 2019

The Trump administration’s desemination of misinformation has spread to create a climate of fear within the immigrant population, which is amplified by the chaos of devastating fires. Immigrants are individuals who are not fully dependent on the government, but at times need some assistance. Immigrants are entitled to human rights and we must ensure they are aware of them, are represented, and we must fight alongside them.

 

2019-11-30Nov 30, 2019

The Public and the LCP: The Sonoma Coast is an irreplaceable public asset and deserves the kind of respect and due process that it was accorded during the thorough public participation by which the first LCP was initially formulated and adopted.  After a County-requested pause in the LCP update process following the 2017 Tubbs fire, Permit Sonoma is now pushing through an artificially-rushed  public review of hundreds of pages of binding planning guidance and formal regulatory language in the aftermath of this year’s new fire season. 

2019-11-30Nov 30, 2019

Why were you evacuated?  What was behind Sheriff Essick’s evacuation order?  Clearly he was nervous, but nervousness in itself hardly qualifies as sufficient justification for evacuating 180,000 people.  There must be a deeper explanation.  Cal Fire is said to have a fire risk model, but what is it?  I find no descriptions online.  Evacuations impact local businesses.  The health of the old and infirm is at risk. A public interest group,  Evacuation Why,  to give us a start in dealing with issues of fire risk assessment in West Sonoma County. Contact  rdh@evacuationwhy.org  to get involved.

2019-11-26Nov 26, 2019

On Sunday, November 17th, a public workshop hosted by the aptly named Permit Sonoma revealed the extent to which developers have gone in their quest to profit from one of the last natural resources left in the county—the beauty of our coast. The meeting was presided over by Cecily Condon and two other PRMD Planner-IIIs, Gary Helfrich, (transportation specialist) and Jane Riley (housing specialist). Cecily acknowledged that readily-available scientific recommendations had not been incorporated in the draft since 2008. She acknowledged that compared to previous Local Coastal Plans, ESHA categories had been reduced from 3 to 1, completely excluding areas of future potentially sensitive habitat.

2019-02-10Feb 10, 2019

The person I’m visiting is Jarvis Jay Masters, a most remarkable man, who’s been on Death Row for 38 years, 21 of which were in solitary confinement, longer than any other prisoner in San Quentin history. I know Jarvis to be an innocent man, wrongfully convicted, and we have been friends for 20+ years. But the point of all this is not about what prisons look like or how they operate. The descriptions I’ve given you are more by way of setting the scene. This little account is about freedom and what that word has come to mean for me.Prison not only confines the human body to a designated space, it also restricts practically all human activity except thinking.

Please support our sponsors:

City Ventures New Homes in Santa Rosa

CLICK on this ad to LEARN about NEW HOMES in TWO Communities in Santa Rosa, Sonoma County

Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services

Visit Fine Tree Care WEBSITE for a List of our SERVICES - Testimonials and to request a FREE Estimate

LOCAL GUIDE to Cannabis Dispensaries and Delivery Services, Sonoma County & Beyond.

LOCAL GUIDE to Cannabis Dispensaries and Delivery Services, Sonoma County & Beyond.All dispensaries have verified their information.

Flip the pages of the 2019 Sonoma County gardeners Resource GUide - LIVE Links to local businessses

Your GUIDE to support locally-owned garden businesses and natural landscaping practices.

2019 Small Shops of Sonoma County

Your GUIDE to Locally-owned businesses to support Sonoma County's economy this Holiday Season

Sonoma County Bicycle Shops and Groups

Sonoma County Bike Shops and Groups. Find LOCALLY-OWNED Bicycle Shops for NEW, Used and Rental Bicycles as well as REPAIR. Look for a bike-riding group that suits your needs and style.

Locally-Owned Jewelry Businesses in Sonoma County

Find Goldsmiths and Jewelers who create custom designs, offer jewelry repair, estate appraisals, and gems.

Bookstores of Sonoma County - LOCAL GUIDE

Find a LOCALLY-OWNED Bookstore near you - CLICK HERE

Flower Shops and Florists of Sonoma County

Please support locally-owned businesses and tell them the Gazette sent you - THANK YOU!